Independent Silentnight mattress reviews and buying guides

Silentnight Premier Inn Mattress: The Mattress 2.0 Explained


A neatly made hotel-style bed with white linen and plump pillows in a bright bedroom
Image: Unsplash

If you’ve ever slept well at a Premier Inn and wondered what’s actually inside that bed, the answer has changed. Since 2022, every new Premier Inn bed has been built by Silentnight, not Hypnos, and the mattress at the centre of it is called the Mattress 2.0. It’s now sold directly to the public, which is why so many searches land on this exact phrase.

This guide pulls together what’s verifiably true about the Mattress 2.0: its construction and its price by size, and why Premier Inn dropped its previous supplier. It also covers how the Mattress 2.0 stacks up against a comparable Silentnight mattress bought through a normal retailer. Nothing here is invented. Where a spec, price or claim couldn’t be confirmed against a primary source, it’s been left out rather than guessed at. Every figure below is sourced directly to the retailer, manufacturer or reviewer that published it.

£649
Single, from
1,000
Zoned Mirapocket springs
28.5cm
Overall depth
6 yrs
Guarantee

What Matters Here

  • The Premier Inn Mattress 2.0 is made exclusively for Premier Inn by Silentnight, using a 1000-spring Mirapocket system and a Geltex gel-foam comfort layer, across seven internal layers.
  • As of September 2026 it costs £649 (single), £799 (double), £849 (king) or £1,019 (super king), bought directly through Premier Inn At Home, with free delivery and a 6-year guarantee.
  • Premier Inn switched from Hypnos to Silentnight in 2022 after a two-year tender process involving hundreds of overnight trial stays, rolling out roughly 26,000 new beds across the UK, Ireland, Germany and the UAE.
  • The home version’s pillow-top is permanently sewn on, unlike the zip-off topper used in Premier Inn’s hotels, and it’s a single-sided, non-flip mattress.
  • Only the 14-day standard returns window applies, not a long home trial. A comparable retail Silentnight mattress with a similar spring count can come with a 100-night comfort trial instead.

What Is the Silentnight Premier Inn Mattress 2.0?

It’s the exact mattress Premier Inn now fits in its hotel rooms, sold as a consumer product through the brand’s own shop. Premier Inn describes it as “a luxurious medium firm mattress” built around a 1000-spring pocket system and a Geltex foam layer, made exclusively with Silentnight rather than bought off Silentnight’s standard retail range. Source: Premier Inn

So why can’t you just buy this from Silentnight direct? Silentnight itself doesn’t sell this exact model under its own name. It’s a bespoke specification developed for the hotel contract, which is part of why shoppers researching it end up comparing it against Silentnight’s ordinary retail ranges rather than finding it in a normal Silentnight catalogue. For context on how Silentnight’s mainstream ranges are built and priced, our full range-by-range review covers Miracoil, Mirapocket and memory foam models side by side.

What’s Inside the Mattress 2.0? The Seven-Layer Build

Premier Inn’s own product pages break the mattress down into seven layers, running from a micro-quilted pillow-top down to a base fabric casing. It’s a hybrid design: springs for support, foam and fibre for comfort and temperature regulation.

  • Pillowtop: a micro-quilted surface with a fabric overlay and two polyester layers (one horizontal-fibre, one vertical) for comfort and moisture wicking.
  • Geltex layer: Silentnight’s gel-infused foam. It’s designed to give responsive bounce and pressure relief without the slow, heat-trapping sink of standard memory foam.
  • Memory layer: a polyester fibre layer adding extra cushioning.
  • Eternity layer: horizontal polyester layers for added moisture wicking and breathability.
  • Fabric layer and Microbond: a soft polyester insulator pad.
  • Zoned pockets: 1000 Mirapocket springs with extra edge support and an inset frame wire around the perimeter.
  • Fabric casing: the outer cover.

Source: Premier Inn

Does independent testing back this up? Broadly, yes. Expert Reviews measured around 2cm of sinkage under a 10kg weight, notably less than many comparable mattresses. It also rated edge support as a particular strength, useful if you tend to sleep or sit near the side of the bed. Their overall firmness read was medium-firm leaning toward firm, rather than true medium. Source: Expert Reviews

How Much Does It Cost, and What Sizes Does It Come In?

As of September 2026, prices start at £649 for a single and rise to £1,019 for a super king, sold in four sizes only: single, double, king and super king. There’s no small double option on the official site’s size selector, and it’s a fixed 28.5cm deep across every size.

Size Dimensions Depth Price
Single 90cm x 190cm 28.5cm £649
Double 135cm x 190cm 28.5cm £799
King 150cm x 200cm 28.5cm £849
Super King 180cm x 200cm 28.5cm £1,019

Source: Premier Inn At Home

Premier Inn Mattress 2.0 price by size (Sept 2026) £649 Single £799 Double £849 King £1,019 Super King Source: premierinnathome.com, September 2026

What about delivery and returns? Delivery is free, with next-day delivery available if you order before 2.30pm Monday to Friday, or standard free delivery within around 10 days. Orders are made to order and fulfilled by Silentnight Group Ltd, with third-party delivery handled by Panther Logistics. The mattress carries a 6-year guarantee, and returns follow Premier Inn At Home’s standard 14-day window rather than an extended home trial. Source: Premier Inn At Home FAQs

Need a full bed rather than just the mattress? Premier Inn At Home also sells the mattress paired with a matching divan base, with complete divan and mattress sets starting from £949. Existing headboards will usually fit, since the divan base ships with pre-marked headboard fixing points. Premier Inn does advise against pairing the Mattress 2.0 with an old, mismatched divan base, though, since it can accelerate wear and may affect the guarantee. The one exception is slatted bed frames, where fitting a Mattress 2.0 on its own is explicitly supported. Source: Premier Inn At Home FAQs

For a closer look at how these prices have moved over time, and when discounting actually happens, see our breakdown of Premier Inn Mattress 2.0 pricing and sales.


Why Did Premier Inn Switch From Hypnos to Silentnight?

Whitbread, Premier Inn’s parent company, announced Silentnight as its new official bed supplier on 8 August 2022, ending a long-running relationship with Hypnos. The switch followed a two-year tender process that included hundreds of overnight trial stays, and the rollout covered Premier Inn’s estate across the UK, Ireland, Germany and the UAE from October 2022. Source: Whitbread

Was Silentnight actually ready for that scale? Within six months of the switch, it had delivered around 26,000 beds at a rate of roughly 1,800 per week. That’s a scale Hypnos, which builds mattresses in smaller runs, would have struggled to match at the same price point. Whitbread’s own materials also point to durability concerns with the outgoing design, and a goal of better edge-to-edge support in the new one. Source: Retail Times

If you’re specifically weighing up a used or older Hypnos-era Premier Inn bed against the current Mattress 2.0, we go spec-for-spec between the two in our head-to-head comparison.

How Does the Mattress 2.0 Compare to a Retail Silentnight Mattress?

It’s built to a broadly similar spec to Silentnight’s own 1000-spring pocket range, but it isn’t the same product, and it isn’t priced the same. A comparable retail Mirapocket 1000 mattress from Silentnight typically costs less and comes with a longer home trial. It does lack the Geltex layer and the extra memory and eternity layers built into the Mattress 2.0, though.

Premier Inn Mattress 2.0 Silentnight Essentials Mirapocket 1000 Silentnight UltraGel Cool-to-Touch 3000
Springs 1000 Mirapocket, zoned 1000 Mirapocket 3000 Mirapocket
Comfort layer Geltex + memory + eternity fibre Eco Comfort fibre Cool-to-touch Geltex
Depth 28.5cm 24cm Not stated on listing
Firmness options Medium/firm only Medium only Softer or firmer options
Double price £799 From £324 From £598 (RRP £879)
Guarantee 6 years 5 years Not stated on listing
Trial period 14-day returns only 100-night comfort trial 100-night comfort trial

Source: MattressOnline Source: MattressOnline UltraGel range

Our take: The honest reading is that you’re paying a premium for the specific hotel spec, the Geltex comfort stack, and the brand association, not simply for spring count. If a 100-night trial matters more to you than replicating the exact hotel feel, a retail Geltex-range Silentnight mattress is worth cross-shopping.

What don’t the official spec sheets mention? Reviewer John Ryan by Design has pointed out that the home version uses synthetic fill throughout rather than natural fibres. In the reviewer’s assessment, it also offers one firmness for everyone rather than a choice by weight or sleep position. Source: John Ryan by Design

Is the Home Version the Same as the Hotel Version?

Mostly, but not identically. The core seven-layer construction and spring system are the same. The difference reviewers consistently point to is the pillow-top. In Premier Inn’s hotels it zips off for cleaning and replacement, extending the life of the spring unit underneath, while the home version has it permanently sewn on.

Our take: That single change matters more than it sounds. A zip-off topper can be refreshed or replaced when it flattens; a sewn-in one can’t, so once the pillow-top compresses, the whole mattress needs replacing rather than just the topper. It’s also a single-sided, non-flip design, so there’s no way to rotate it to redistribute wear beyond turning it end to end.

What about actually getting it into the house? Weight is worth planning for. A double is around 29kg on the comparable retail Mirapocket range, and the Mattress 2.0’s extra layers make it heavier still. Moving it up a stairwell or around a landing is a two-person job in most homes. Because it’s 28.5cm deep, rather than the 20-25cm typical of a standard mattress, you’ll also need deep-fitted or extra-deep sheets. Standard-depth fitted sheets will usually pop off the corners within a night or two.


What Do Owners and Independent Reviewers Say?

Feedback is generally positive but not uniform. On Trustpilot, Premier Inn At Home carries a 4.6 TrustScore from around 8,650 reviews, with 84% five-star and 5% one-star, covering the whole product range rather than the mattress alone. Source: Trustpilot The mattress’s own product reviews on Premier Inn At Home sit at 4.6 out of 5 from 8,207 reviews, with 86% of reviewers saying they’d recommend it. Source: Premier Inn At Home

What about outside the official channels? Owner sentiment aggregated from Reddit threads across r/UKFrugal, r/AskUK, r/BuyUK, r/HENRYUKLifestyle and r/sleep skews strongly positive, in one third-party tracker’s read of the sample it gathered. Recurring comments describe it as the best mattress they’ve owned, alongside occasional notes about the price. Source: RedditRecs’ aggregation of Reddit threads Treat that as anecdotal colour rather than a scientific sample; it’s a handful of forums, not a controlled survey. The recurring theme, on Reddit and in professional reviews alike, is that buyers who already know they like the hotel feel tend to be satisfied. Buyers hoping for a softer or more contoured mattress sometimes find it firmer than expected.

Is the Premier Inn Mattress 2.0 Worth Buying?

If what you actually want is to replicate a specific, familiar feel you already know you sleep well on, yes. It’s a reasonable buy at a fair (if not cheap) price, backed by a 6-year guarantee and strong edge support. If you’re simply after a good 1000-spring hybrid mattress and haven’t specifically fallen for the hotel feel, you’ll likely get better value and a longer trial period from Silentnight’s standard retail ranges.

It suits back and combination sleepers who want firm edge support and don’t mind a firmer-than-average medium setting. It’s a less obvious fit if you’re a lighter side sleeper wanting deep pressure relief at the hips and shoulders, where a softer specification would usually serve you better. For a broader view of where Silentnight sits against premium pocket-sprung brands, our assessment of whether Silentnight mattresses are actually good puts this in context.

Our take: Breaking it down by buyer type: say you’re upgrading from a mattress older than eight to ten years and mainly want something reliably firm and well-supported at the edges. The Mattress 2.0 is a safe, uncomplicated choice there, backed by a solid guarantee. If you’re setting up a guest room and want it to feel genuinely hotel-like for visitors, it does that job precisely, since it’s literally the same spec. Where it makes less sense is if you’re chasing a specific medical or postural need, such as pronounced hip or shoulder pain as a side sleeper. There, the single fixed firmness works against you rather than for you. It also makes less sense if you want to try before fully committing, since a 14-day window is enough to catch faults but not enough to judge long-term comfort the way a 100-night trial is.

Where Can You Buy It?

Only through Premier Inn At Home, the official shop run in partnership with Silentnight. It isn’t currently stocked through Argos, Dreams, Costco or other mainstream mattress retailers, which is unusual for a Silentnight-made product, since most of Silentnight’s retail ranges, carried by MattressNextDay among others, are sold widely. Klarna is available at checkout for spreading the cost. If you’re shopping more broadly for Silentnight mattresses across retailers, our retailer-by-retailer buying guide compares where the rest of the range is sold.

Before you buy, it’s worth checking the size against your existing bed frame or divan. Confirm your room can take the 28.5cm depth with deep-fitted bedding, since the mattress is heavier and deeper than most standard doubles. Not sure which UK mattress size actually fits your room? Or caught out by the small-double-versus-double confusion that trips up a lot of UK buyers? Our Silentnight size guide walks through every dimension in cm and inches.

Before You Buy: Quick Answers

Is the Premier Inn Mattress 2.0 made by Hypnos or Silentnight?

Silentnight. Premier Inn switched suppliers in 2022. Older Premier Inn beds, before the switch, were made by Hypnos, but every Mattress 2.0 sold since then is a Silentnight product.

How firm is the Premier Inn Mattress 2.0?

Premier Inn markets it as medium/firm, and independent testing from Expert Reviews found it leans toward the firmer end of that range, with notably low sinkage and strong edge support.

Can you buy the Premier Inn Mattress 2.0 from Argos or Dreams?

No. As of this writing it’s sold exclusively through Premier Inn At Home, the official online shop, and isn’t listed at Argos, Dreams or Costco.

Does the Premier Inn Mattress 2.0 come with a trial period?

It comes with a standard 14-day returns window rather than an extended sleep trial. That’s shorter than the 100-night trials offered on some comparable Silentnight retail mattresses.

What size mattress does Premier Inn use in its hotels?

A small number of hotel rooms use twin, double or single beds, but the mattress itself is the same Mattress 2.0 specification sold for home use, just with a removable rather than sewn-in pillow-top.

How long is the guarantee on the Premier Inn Mattress 2.0?

Six years, according to Premier Inn At Home’s own product page.


This review may contain affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. Best SilentNight Mattress is an independent review site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *